Demonata by Darren Shan

Demonata is a great first book in a series by one of my favorite authors, Darren Shan. This story is about Grubbs Grady and how is life is turned upside down when he walks in on his family being brutally murdered by a Demon Lord. He gets thrown into a world of magic and demons, a world his parents had tried in vain to hide him and his sister from. He learns that his family has a curse, a curse that turns some into mindless werewolf’s. He also learned that his sister was turning, so in order to save her, his parents challenged a Demon Lord to five chess games at once. The rules are, one person plays five chess games at once, while the other battles two of Demon Lord’s minions. If they win, the person playing chess’s soul must fight Lord Loss in his palace while the body stays in limbo. But, Grubb’s parents lost, so they were murdered. Grubbs lives with his Uncle Dervis after that, and learns some magic. He and his new friend Bill-E, who turns out to be his half brother, think that a.) Dervis is Bill-E’s dad, and b.) Dervis is a werewolf. They are wrong, and it turns out Bill-E is the werewolf. Grubbs and Dervis go against Lord Loss, and they win, but Dervis has to fight Lord Loss. He wins and returns a year later.

This book has a lot of blood, guts, and gore. It is very gruesome, and very awesome. I would say ages 12+. Also, in this series, not every book has the same characters. It switches main characters between a few, but they are all in the last book.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s