Cinders and Sapphires by Leila Rasheed

First thing I have to say: The characters! The scandal! The secret romances! I could not take my eyes off this! I got this book at the library, and I read all but 60 pages in one sitting. I absolutely adored this book of scandal, love, rich, and poor in England, pre WWI.

This book is about British Lords and Ladies and their maids. You learn about Lady Ada and her secret lover, Ravi. You learn about Ada’s ladies’ maid, Rose, and her uncanny resemblance to Ada’s father. This book is all about scandal, from Ada and Ravi, to Sebastian (Ada’s gay stepbrother) and his Valet, to Rose’s family secret she doesn’t even know. It is so awesome, I don’t even know how to describe it.

I would say, 12+ due to melting kisses and implied ‘ungentlemanly’ actions in the past.

Leave a Reply

