Spy School by Stuart Gibbs

This book was actually very good and funny, in my opinion. This book is about, well, a kid spy school. This is the first book in the series, with the third coming out in April. One reason I like the story was how even though the main character is a guy, the one who is actually the talented one is a girl.

This story follows Ben Ripley, a nerdy kid. He gets invited to a math and science school for really smart kids. But, it turns out to be a school training kids to be spies. He has to take courses for becoming a spy for the C.I.A., and he wonders why they would want him. But there’s a mole at the camp, and his spy hero turns out to be not all that he seems.

I really enjoyed this book, even though it’s recommended for ages 8-12. I read this a year or two ago, so I don’t exactly remember all the details. I read some reviews of it on Amazon, and a few parents were upset by the occasional swear. I didn’t even remember that part in the book, but some parents didn’t like that (makes sense if they don’t want there kids to read that, but most kids will hear worse on the bus ride to school). Anyway, this overall is a good book that I recommend.

Leave a Reply

