The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

Wow, it’s been a while. Let’s start with a favorite author of mine.

I have a long standing love for Rick Riordan books. The Percy Jackson series got me out of a pretty low place, and never fail to amuse me. The Heroes of Olympus series I didn’t like as much, but then there was this book. The Sword of Summer. I really, really, really liked this book. And, it was back in first person.

This follows Magnus Chase and his adventures into the world of Norse mythology, with some clear similarities to Percy Jackson. Others weren’t a huge fan of this and rated this poorly because of that, but I didn’t mind to much. I found the new mythology interesting enough to look past that. I also love, in this book, how their was more diversity in the characters, from religion, to skin color, to disabilities. It was nice reading that.

Overall, I would recommend this book. It’s fast paced, interesting, and was totally worth the Barnes and Noble gift card I used on it. It’s a little on the thick side, and deals with the usual fantasy violence. Probably good for 10/11+.

Leave a Reply

